Amiga Power: The Album With Attitude – Review

Amiga Power: The Album With Attitude is a collection of more than 30 brand new remixes of classic Amiga game tunes. Featuring many famous names like- Andrew Barnabas, Allister Brimble, Mike Clarke, Fabian Del Priore, Olof Gustafsson, Jogeir Liljedahl, Joi, Jon Hare, Chris Huelsbeck, Barry Leitch, Patrick Nevian, Jason Page, Instant Remedy, Matthias Steinwachs, Jeroen Tel, Tim Wright and many more besides.

Extract from the Booksleeve

So let’s dig into this album, firstly the case is known as a Booksleeve, essentially this is a CD case sized booklet with the CD’s either end of the book. I have to say I am very impressed with the quality of the overall product and so kudos to the guys, especially Mathew Smith the brains behind the album for overseeing see a wonderful, physical product.

Listening to the album is a joy to behold, from the awesome beats of the Speedball 2 (Movie Mix) which was talentedly composed by Simon Rogers and remixed by Allister Brimble, to the dance vibes of Hired Guns composed by Brian Johnston and remixed by Mike Clarke.

Each and every track on CD One and Two blew my mind, ok that’s probably an over-exaggeration because there are a few tracks that have too much singing in them for my liking, perhaps I am just to old school but it does not work for me, that’s the only negative I have for the entire package though. One thing is for sure some people will love the tracks so don’t take my word for it.

Here is a complete list of the tracks across both CD’s, Speedball 2 (Movie Mix) Composed by Simon Rogers, Remixed by Allister Brimble is my absolute favourite track, I reckon that part of the CD will be worn out soon.

CD One

1 Sensible World Of Soccer: Goal Scoring Superstar Hero Composed by Jon Hare & Richard Joseph, Remixed by Sami Arola
2 Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 Composed and remixed by Barry Leitch
3 Apidya: Sewer’s Blast Composed and remixed by Chris Huelsbeck
4 Pinball Fantasies: Party Land Composed and remixed by Olof Gustafsson
5 Monster Business Composed by John Tonnard & Laurens Tummers, Remixed by Jeroen Tel
6 Speedball 2 (Movie Mix) Composed by Simon Rogers, Remixed by Allister Brimble
7 Datastorm Composed by Timm Engels, Remixed by Fabian Del Priore
8 Hired Guns Composed by Brian Johnston, Remixed by Mike Clarke
9 Cannon Fodder: Narcissus Composed by Jon Hare, Remixed by Andrew Barnabas & Jon Hare
10 The Chaos Engine Composed and remixed by Joi
11 Shadow Fighter Composed and remixed by Fabio Cicciarello
12 Fantasy World Dizzy Composed and remixed by Allister Brimble
13 Guardian CD32 Composed by Phillip Blake, Remixed by Tim Wright
14 Coma Composed by Anders Bukh, Remixed by Instant Remedy
15 Super Skidmarks Composed and remixed by Anthony Milas
16 Bill’s Tomato Game Composed and remixed by Mike Clarke
17 Harlequin: The Clock Tower (Atom & The Molecule Mix) Composed and remixed by Barry Leitch

CD Two

1 Gravity Power Composed by Chris Huelsbeck
2 Banshee Composed by Martin Schjøler, Remixed by Brian Sadler
3 Attack Of The Green Smelly Aliens From Planet 27b/6 Composed and remixed by Alex May
4 Deluxe Pac-Man: Overture Composed and remixed by Jogeir Liljedahl
5 Scorched Tanks: Horizon’s Edge Composed by Eric Gieseke (“Sidewinder”), Remixed by Tim Wright
6 Nipper Versus The Kats Composed and remixed by Jason Page
7 Willy In The Castle Of Dreams Composed and remixed by Alistair Bowness
8 Blob Composed by Martin Iveson, Remixed by Fabian Del Priore
9 Tetris Pro: Digital E-Motions Composed by Marco van Steen (“Sid”), Remixed by Patrick Nevian
10 Jetstrike CD32: Drop The Bomb Composed and remixed by Adam Fothergill
11 Stardust Tunnel Composed by Risto Vuori (“Rib”), Remixed by Tim Wright
12 Fire & Ice: Christmas With Cool Coyote Composed and remixed by Jason Page
13 Deluxe Galaga: The Alibi Composed by Thomas Egeskov Petersen (“Laxity”), Remixed by Jogeir Liljedahl
14 Top Secret Composed and remixed by Carl Jermy
15 Gloom Composed by Kevan Stannard, Remixed by Allister Brimble
16 Super Tennis Champs Composed by Oliver Bell, Remixed by Instant Remedy
17 No Second Prize Composed and remixed by Matthias Steinwachs
18 It’s A Skull Composed by Paul Hamilton, Remixed by Jeroen Tel

Overall this is a fantastic album, each track rekindled old memories of the games they are based on. Mathew and those he worked with to create this album and booksleeve have done a sublime job, I only hope another album is in the works. If you’re into gaming music and love hearing classics reimagined with a modern twist then this album should be on your shopping list.

The Album is still available HERE

Review Score
  • 8/10
    RVG Rating - 8/10


Retro head and key holder of RVG.