RVG Interviews: Kevin Edwards.

Started by zapiy, May 26, 2018, 11:19:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

zapiy

Here we have our latest interview with Kevin Edwards, Kevin has been in the industry for 35 Years starting with game creation on the BBC Micro, through the NES, SNES, MD/Genesis era’s a beyond.

Enjoy

The Interview.

Zapiy

Thank you for agreeing to our interview, please take a moment to tell us a little about you?

Kevin

Hi. I’m currently working in the core technology department of Traveller’s Tales, the company that develops LEGO games for PC and game console platforms. I moved away from gameplay programming about 20 years ago to focus on the core technology that games are built on. My first commercial game was published way back in 1983, but I started programming in 1979. Since then I have developed game technology for many console, mobile and home computer platforms. I’ve worked in-house at a number of game development studios in the North West of England, including Software Creations, Acclaim, EA, GenePool, Rage Software and Juice Games. When I’m not at work I have a busy family life.

Zapiy

What was the first game you created?

Kevin

That would be a simple 2D ‘top down’ maze game on the Commodore PET computer when I was at high school aged about 13. I would spend my breaks and lunchtimes in the computer room learning to program and writing games. I typed in listings from computer magazines and books at first to gain as much knowledge as I could. I had a great Computer Studies teacher, Pete Davidson, who knew his stuff and really encouraged us with our programming. He was teaching us 6502 machine code at the same time as BASIC.

Zapiy

Are you surprised with the resurgence in retro gaming?

Kevin