Retro Video Gamer

Retro Gaming => Atari Chat => Topic started by: walter_j64bit on August 23, 2018, 01:28:47 AM

Title: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on August 23, 2018, 01:28:47 AM
Ok, I've got my old laptop up and running thanks to a donor laptop I have, :-D anyway!
I want to use bjl dump but I'm unsure if I'm using it right. I've got the jag on the ready orange screen. so now I want to use the autodetection setup so is this the command "BJL_DUMP.EXE try.rom 0 800000 0" I'm right and how can I tell if it's working? :?   Thanks!
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on August 23, 2018, 05:37:51 AM
I'm no expert and not sure what the "auto detection" function is but from what I know, after connecting up the Jag and opening a command prompt inside the dumping directory I have to type in lo_inp -8 BJL_DUMP.BIN to get to the orange screen. Sounds like you did this from your post (unless there's an alternative way I'm unaware of) so next would be to type in:

BJL_DUMP try.rom 0 800000 0

I've never used the command with .exe after the BJL_DUMP part. Kinda automatically does that for you, to my knowledge and it might corrupt the entire command. Will have to try it sometime.
A countdown of kilobytes should start at the bottom of the command window. If the ROM is 4MB it'd say 4096 KB and begin reducing. Takes my XP machine 58 minutes to dump 4MB.

So, if you see the 'countdown' of KBs it's working.
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on August 23, 2018, 11:09:49 AM
OK, I'll try this out and I'll have to be patience.  :o I'm using Windows 98 with an AMD Duron @ 850 MHz and 512MB of ram. :D  It's a good thing I didn't fix up a 486 PC from the looks of things a PC running XP take some time to use the app I would hate to see the bjl dump running on a 486.  ;D

Thanks!
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on August 23, 2018, 20:31:57 PM
No, luck I've let my Jag and PC run for 2 hours the countdown of kilobytes didn't show up.  :-[ I'm going to let the setup run over night to see if I can get anything.
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on August 24, 2018, 01:52:42 AM
Oh no, that sucks. Maybe with Windows 98 you DO have to use the .exe portion of the command. I've never tried it with that OS. Either way, the countdown should start immediately after pressing Enter so if it's not up after all that time it doesn't sound like it will be.

I'll try to up the full contents of my directory. Might be missing a file or something to make it work. I'll have to connect my XP computer but hopefully it won't take forever.
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on August 24, 2018, 12:03:30 PM
Awesome!  :) Can you take screen shots I'm a visual learner. Thanks!
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on August 24, 2018, 12:08:14 PM
I'll try to take screen shots this evening. Work is out of control.. as usual 8)
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on August 27, 2018, 11:42:33 AM
I might have to put my Jag dumping on hold, I think I've got a laptop with a gimp LPT1 port.  :o
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on August 27, 2018, 12:23:53 PM
Oh no, sorry to hear that. I haven't been able to take screen shots yet anyway.
Will try to in the meantime but hope the port gets sorted.
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on August 27, 2018, 22:32:58 PM
I've got a NOS replacement motherboard on the way and it didn't cost much just $15.70 with free shipping.  ;D
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on August 28, 2018, 00:16:39 AM
Awesome!
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on August 31, 2018, 17:32:15 PM
I've got the new motherboard, I'm putting it in the laptop. This is not my strong-point  :o "I do desktops"  ;D I hope to have it all together soon, so I can get back to dumping the romz that I can't find on the information superhighway.  :P   
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on September 01, 2018, 00:33:55 AM
Cool, I hope it works. I'm still trying to get some screenshots or video but work is out of control :P
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on September 02, 2018, 22:37:04 PM
Got my laptop running after fighting with it all day, I've checked the LPT1 port it seem to work but the laptop is running slow for some reason I've have no idea why.  ???  I'll try to dump my romz tomorrow I need a brake from this laptop.  :o
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on September 03, 2018, 15:10:17 PM
Sorry to hear it's running slow. Bad mobo?? Damn... :(
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on September 03, 2018, 17:52:17 PM
IDK about the motherboard, :'( win 98 just hangs on boot up but when in safe mod win98 runs just fine  :o Xp is sluggish but any way, I think my Jag isn't talking to my laptop. What model Jag you got your bjl installed on a M model or a K model?  Thanks.   
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on September 03, 2018, 23:57:38 PM
Mine is a model M.
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on September 04, 2018, 23:08:24 PM
OK, I've got my installed on the M model too, say when your BJL Rom is switched on can you run a Jag cart? I can't if a cart does run it only for a short time than the Jag crashes. What version of the BJL you're using? I've got 1.06.d. 
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on September 05, 2018, 02:13:49 AM
I have no idea which version of the bjl rom was used. Stone did this for me back in 2003. I shipped it to the UK, he did the replacement and sent it back. Not sure what it was up to at the time. Version #.
Mine has a switch on the side w/ 3 positions. All the way one direction plays regular games. The middle position does... nothing and all the way the other direction loads the bjl rom. I put it here while connected to the XP pc then run the commands from the DOS prompt. The first command, lo_inp -8 BJL_DUMP.BIN, turns the screen orange. The next command, BJL_DUMP try.rom 0 800000 0, starts the dump and the kb countdown.
Not sure what's happening with your setup but sounds like the Jaguar isn't playing the games consistently so that would make the length of time to dump one impossible already.
Not sure what else to try save for a 2nd Jag with another bjl rom. Would be nice if there was a resource for this in the states. I found and posted about a site with the ROMs and bought the kit. http://www.retrovideogamer.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=7029.msg91919#msg91919
Can't solder/desolder to save my life so kinda stuck with this one Jag.
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on September 05, 2018, 03:21:34 AM
Quote
Stone did this for me back in 2003.

This why your bjl works and mine don't, :P too bad Stone isn't around any more his Jag know how is just awesome! Oh I've got more than one Jag kicking around here ;) I'm going try some things out I need to get my hands on the Jag os and put it back and try out the More Than Games bjl kit and see if that helps out, I'm going to check that link you post and see if I've missed anything. 8) Thanks!
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on September 05, 2018, 08:09:45 AM
Yeah, too bad Stone disappeared. I've thought about sending him a PM just to see if he'd respond. You could always try the same with Linkovitch or Matthias. Maybe one of them would be willing to take on the task. I want to get my other Jags done but haven't reached out to them about it. It's on my list of things to do.. lol.
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on September 06, 2018, 21:30:51 PM
I've just PMed LinkoVitch my Jag is setup in the same way he has his Jag setup, he told me that my BJL Jag is having it's version of the "red screen" so my BJL Jag needs a cleaning but I'm not having any luck so far with dumping a rom  ::) I'm thinking it might be the cables I'm using or my Jag just can't talk to my laptop.  ???
Oh I've got my Laptop in working order I had to fdisk my Hard drive aka "SDcard" and reinstall win98 and this time I've installed Windows 2000. I've found out why windows Xp was running slow a mini PCi card is acting up time to do some more home work on this card.  :o 
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on September 07, 2018, 01:31:53 AM
Awesome! I'm glad you're pushing forward. Hopefully it just is the cable. I believe zapiy was talking about building and selling bjl cables a while back. Not sure where the thread is but you might ask him about it. I have one cable that Stone built and never had a problem so if your troubleshooting has led to this, it might be worth checking next. If it still doesn't work the only 2 things that I would think that's left are the lpt port (but since you have a nos mobo that doesn't seem likely) or the bjl ROM chip itself. Has it ever worked in bjl mode? I mean for uploading a file to the Jag's RAM how it was intended?

Hope you get it resolved!
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on September 10, 2018, 02:15:42 AM
LOL, hurricane Florence is on the way to the Carolina's,  :-\  Florence has got me just worried. All things Jag related are on hold.  >:(  I've got my Atari Lynx with the batter pack ready and I got my Sega Game Gear with the LED mod ready too.  8) I'll get my game on if things don't get too bad here in Goldsboro. 
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on September 10, 2018, 02:21:13 AM
Hope you all stay safe. Will be watching that hurricane :-\
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: zapiy on September 10, 2018, 12:10:38 PM
Fingers crossed for you fella..

Awesome thread btw lads.
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: TrekMD on September 10, 2018, 12:13:37 PM
Hope for the best and be safe!
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on September 19, 2018, 13:48:27 PM
 :o, Hurricane Florence  >:(  has frazzled my family and my nerves we lost power for two days we lost a surge protector all my devices that was on the surge protector are in working order  ;D but the refrigerator wasn't on a surge protector so that's isn't working right  :'( we had to get a replacement refrigerator.   I'll be back on bjl dumpping soon.  :P

Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: TrekMD on September 19, 2018, 15:04:48 PM
Glad to see you're OK after the storm, despite the frazzling.  :)
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on September 20, 2018, 01:50:00 AM
:o, Hurricane Florence  >:(  has frazzled my family and my nerves we lost power for two days we lost a surge protector all my devices that was on the surge protector are in working order  ;D but the refrigerator wasn't on a surge protector so that's isn't working right  :'( we had to get a replacement refrigerator.   I'll be back on bjl dumpping soon.  :P

Glad to see you're OK after the storm, despite the frazzling.  :)

Yes, glad you're ok! :)
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on September 24, 2018, 22:39:00 PM
Say, Saturn when you dumped your Jag game did you use the More Than Games BJL adapter?
 
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on September 25, 2018, 01:44:01 AM
No, the one I use is the one Stone made for me.
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on September 30, 2018, 05:16:16 AM
I've replaced the BJL cable and  I'm not having any luck with that  :-\  or getting any help from programmer of the app.   ::)  :o
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on September 30, 2018, 05:54:19 AM
Sorry to hear that. Wish it would just work like it's supposed to! Has to be frustrating..
Would be great if the LPT port was still on everything. Could at least isolate the problem better.
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on September 30, 2018, 16:27:40 PM
I'm going to PM Matthias and see if he might know anything about the bjl dump app.
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on October 03, 2018, 02:35:20 AM
Matthias, has made things clear I have been using the command right but my PC doesn't have an "EPP" setting just an "ECP" setting so I can load game to the Jag but I can't dump a game.  :o Time to take down a PC that has an "EPP" setting.  :o
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on October 03, 2018, 03:49:44 AM
It sucks that that pc doesn't have it but great the problem has been hopefully solved. You could've run in circles forever!
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on October 03, 2018, 04:43:52 AM
Yep it does sucks, one of my friends has an old PC I can use. I'll check that out and see. 
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on October 05, 2018, 10:56:32 AM
Say Saturn if you don't mind what the make and model of the PC your using for the bjl dumping that would be a big help too so it would take out the guesswork on what PC does guesswork and doesn't have EPP setting. Thanks!  :)
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on October 05, 2018, 12:34:16 PM
It's a Dell Dimension 2350
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: walter_j64bit on October 12, 2018, 22:18:44 PM
Thanks again for your help Saturn, I was able to dump some games by using my friends old XP PC.  :thumbsup: :thumbsup: 
Title: Re: bjl dump command
Post by: Saturn on October 13, 2018, 00:15:23 AM
That's fantastic! You're welcome :)
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2020, SimplePortal