RVG Interviews: Mike Dailly.

Started by zapiy, May 23, 2018, 13:26:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zapiy

Here we have another fantastic RVG Interviews, this time with Mike Dailly, Mike is a legend within the Industry having worked on the original GTA game, playing a huge part in the creation of Lemmings and Shadow of the Beast to mention just a few so please enjoy the interview.

Zapiy

Thank you for agreeing to our interview, please take a moment to tell us a little about you?

Mike

I've been a game developer for a little over 137 years, I started back in the 1800's just after Charles Babbage invented the difference engine. It's quite possible that my many strange body odours inspired him to create the difference engine 2 in a desperate attempt to compute how many animals I'd accidentally killed by taking a short-cut through the woods.

Okay...fine. I started at DMA Design in 1989 and was there for 10 years before moving to Visual Sciences to make F1 games for EA sports. I was only there for 2 years as EA were control freaks and stole some of our ideas for another team, so I got pissed off and left. I then spent 4 years doing mobile phone games - and a Beano game before moving to Realtime Worlds to start a project that pulled in $85 million dollars in investment, only to have them piss it all away on APB. Ah well... I then moved to YoYo Games, and have been there for 8 years now.

Zapiy

What was the first game you created?

Mike

Guess the number on the ZX81. I was proving a point to my Gran who let me hook it up to her TV. But the first real completed on was a game called Freek Out on the Commodore Plus/4. My first commercial game was Ballistix for the C64. It was a bit crap... but it was my first game and got me into the industry, so I've fond memories of it.

Zapiy

Are you surprised with the resurgence in retro gaming?

Mike