Author Topic: RVG Interviews Simon Phipps.  (Read 10399 times)

Offline zapiy

• Administrator
    • View Profile
RVG Interviews Simon Phipps.
« on: October 06, 2013, 21:07:16 PM »
[align=center:17nk9cag][/align:17nk9cag]
[align=center:17nk9cag][size=120]
Well here it is our latest interview with Simon Phipps.. I can honestly say that this interview was a real pleasure and i want to say a huge thanks to Simon for not only taking part but also for sharing the images below..

Simon is one of the UK generation of self-taught back-bedroom programmers, who, inspired by arcade Space Invaders, the movie TRON, friends' self-built Sinclair ZX81s and school Commodore PET microcomputers wanted to have a go at making their own games.

His first published game, Jet Power Jack was written whilst was at school.

Other games Simon has worked on include.

Masters of the Universe - The Movie
Switchblade
Night Raider
Rick Dangerous
Thunderhawk
Monty Python's Flying Circus- The Computer Game
Asterix and the Power of the Gods

Simon currently enjoying the privilege of working as a Senior Designer with the amazing Criterion Games. team, having recently completed Need For Speed Most Wanted.

See his website for more.[/size]
[/align:17nk9cag]

[size=110]zapiy

Simon, tell us a little about you and how you got into this industry?

zapiy

What genre of games do you play and any reason why?

zapiy

Favourite game or games?

[align=center:17nk9cag][/align:17nk9cag]

zapiy

Rick Dangerous was one of my favourite games and i still have fond memories of it.. What was it like to create? Did you do the art work for all versions of the game?

[/size]

[align=center:17nk9cag]
[size=100]These sketches I did in the original Rick 2 design doc to illustrate gameplay ideas.[/size][/align:17nk9cag]

[size=80]This is the first 'character sketch' of Rick in his new look - I used this on the front of the Rick 2 design doc and then as reference when I drew the title screen for the game.[/size]

]