Psytronik Album


Psytronic Software 20 Years

by Jason 'Kenz' Mackenzie

Buy PSYTRONIK - 20 Years (Limited Edition 2CD Set) £9.99

Discussion Thread

Review by


The Album

In order to help celebrate the 20th Anniversary of Psytronik Software, Jason 'Kenz' Mackenzie has put together a rather special and Limited Edition CD set that combines the music from the companyís releases between 1993 and 2013 with episodes from the One Man & His Mic podcast.

The first CD in the set features various soundtracks from Psytronik releases while the second CD mixes excerpts from the podcast with a different selection of soundtracks. The podcast entries give information about the releases.

CD 1 runs for 80 minutes. The music included has original tracks from various releases that have been remastered for optimal quality as well as brand new recordings of other tracks. The full track list can be found below. CD 2 also runs for 80 minutes, which includes the podcast entries as well as music remixes, tunes inspired by Psytronik games, and music recorded from various computer systems.

This 20th Anniversary CD set is limited to 250 copies, so anyone wanting it should immediately go Binary Zone Retro Store at the link above.


This is easy. I love it. This CD set is excellently done. The CDís themselves are beautifully packaged and each CD has simply amazing artwork. Of course, what is a nice looking CD without great music? Well, nothing to worry as these CDís have excellent music for you to enjoy from an assortment of Psytronik soundtracks. Iím actually listening to the music from the first CD as I write this review.

As much as I enjoyed the first CD, the second CD is really cool to listen to because you get the backstory for the releases from Psytronik followed by the musical arrangements. It is clear all the sountracks and audio segments have been remastered so you can enjoy a pristine sonic experience.

Track Listing

Disc 1 Track List:

01. Sceptre of Baghdad - In-Game (FeekZoid)
02. Archetype - In-Game (FeekZoid)
03. Psykozone - In-Game (Matt Simmonds)
04. Sub Hunter - Loader (Maniacs of Noise)
05. Escape from Arth - Loader (Richard Bayliss)
06. Mayhem in Monsterland - Intro (Steve Rowlands)
07. Joe Gunn - Title (Laxity)
08. The Last Amazon - Intro (Tonka)
09. Knight 'n' Grail - Title / End (Hans Axelsson)
10. The Wild Bunch - Title (Jon Wells)
11. Oracle III - Perplexed Oracle (Tufan Uysal)
12. 2,000 Kung Fu Maniacs - Loader (Richard Bayliss)
13. Super Tau Zeta - Title (Richard Bayliss)
14. Soulless - In-Game (Mikkel Hastrup)
15. Redrunner - Title (Glenn Rune Gallefoss)
16. Assembloids - Title (Owen Crowley)
17. Guns 'n' Ghosts - Loader (Richard Bayliss)
18. Sir Ababol - Loader (Linus)
19. Cops - The Final Chapter - Title (Richard Bayliss)
20. Super Carling the Spider - In-Game (Joe Dixon)
21. The Vice Squad - Montage (Linus)

Disc 2 Track List:

01. Sceptre of Baghdad Intro (DJ Skitz)
02. The Sceptre of Nu Baghdad (Kate Z)
03. Archetype - FZ vs JMJ Remix (FeekZoid)
04. Nukenin & The Ronin Title (TMR) [C64]
05. PsykoZone Intro (FeekZoid) [C64]
06. Sub Hunter Title (Maniacs of Noise) [C64]
07. Escape from Arth Title (FeekZoid) [C64]
08. Mayhem in Monsterland Title (Tonka) [PC]
09. Creatures Remix (Infamous)
10. Creatures 2 Redux (Infamous)
11. Joe Gunn in-game (Laxity) [C64]
12. Armalyte Loader (Martin Walker) [C64]
13. The Path Of Destiny - Knight 'n' Grail Subtune #2 (Project N.A.)
14. Knight 'n' Grail - Good Ending Orchestral Mix (Hans Axelsson)
15. The Last Amazon Title Tune (Richard Bayliss) [C64]
16. The Wild Bunch (Jon Wells) [C64]
17. Star Sabre In-Game Tune (Targhan) [Amstrad CPC]
18. Armalyte PC Title Tune (Infamous) [PC]
19. Adventures in Time (Luca / Fire) [Plus/4]
20. City Bomber - KateZoid Fusion Mix (Kate Z)
21. Sub Hunter CPC (Herve Monchatre) [Amstrad CPC]
22. HyperViper (Jamie Howard) [C64]
23. Sceptre of Baghdad Outro (DJ Skitz)


This is one fantastic CD set. If you enjoy video game music, you are sure to enjoy this collection. One of the great things about the set is that you get different tunes in each CD so there is plenty of music to be enjoyed and you can get them without breaking the bank. Remember, though, these are limited to 250 copies so donít take too long to get your copy.

Back To Reviews Main Page

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk